7th Annual SPIFFY Award Winners Announced

Author: Telecom Council Staff

SPIFFY-Winner-2014From nearly 200 young telecom companies who present for the Telecom Council’s 60+ service providers every year, some have been identified as having ideas, relevance, and traction that most appeal to our carriers from around the globe.

The Service Provider members of the Telecom Council of Silicon Valley awarded 7 young telecom companies for their innovation, execution, management, and technologies at the association’s annual  SPIFFY Award ceremony, on day 1 of the annual TC3: Telecom Council Carrier Connections Executive Summit. SPIFFY nominees attended the ceremony, supported by Ericsson, joined by over 400 telecom professionals, including 20 senior executive carrier speakers from the summit.

Members of the Service Provider Forum (SPIF) reviewed nearly 200 young companies at Telecom Council meetings throughout 2014. Competition for these awards is stiff because all startups are screened by Telecom Council Steering Committees before they are selected to present to the SPIF or other Telecom Council meetings. Startups who present have been identified as having ideas, relevance, and traction that most appeal to our carriers from around the globe.

Over 60 carrier members voted on nearly 200 young companies and the winners of the 2014 SPIFFY Awards are:

  • The Edison Award for Most Innovative Start-Up goes to Kumu Networks.
  • The Ground Breaker Award for Engineering Excellence goes to Shared Spectrum Company.
  • The Graham Bell Award for Best Communication Solutions goes to Tarana Wireless.
  • The San Andreas Award for Most Disruptive Technology goes to Connectem.
  • The Core Award for Best Fixed Telecom Opportunity goes to TRUSTID.
  • The Zephyr Award for Best Mobile Opportunity goes to SpiderCloud Wireless.
  • The Prodigy Award for the Most Successful SPiF Alumni is MobileIron.
  • The Fred & Ginger Award for Most Supportive Carrier goes to BT.
  • The Yellow Brick Award for Supportive Ventor goes to Cisco.
  • The Sand Hill Award for Engaged Investor goes to Sequoia Capital.

President of Telecom Council, Liz Kerton said proudly of the 60 SPIF carriers and the 2014 crop of presenters, “2014 brought an incredible crop of communications startups.  We were pleased to introduce so many world-changing technologies to potential network partners, and look forward to watching their market success in 2015 and beyond.”

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *